top of page
Writer's pictureThe Good Writer

Return to RV PESA 2022: Clutch Moment (THIS NEARLY COST ME MY LIFE)

River Valley High School’s very own Plain English Speaking Awards is back, stronger and harder.


At least one student will represent each class to compete in this Speech Competition in 3 separate section, elaborated below👇 ⬇️

Lower Secondary: Sec 1-2s

Upper Secondary: Sec 3-4s

Junior College: Y5-Y6s (JC1-2s)


This year, a total of three students represent class 2G in RV PESA 2022.

Preliminary Round Video Submission Date: 20 April 2022 by 5pm


Lower Secondary Speech Topic:

Empathy



 

I was generally not so hyped to join PESA this year and still I registered as I thought no one did and unexpectedly, 3 people including me, great. I was quite busy around the time, with ReVerie concert, homework and my tuition, preparing for Common Test and preparing the speech was a disaster and I only completed the speech on 17 April, 3 days before the recorded video submission date and as you know, weekends are filled with lessons and tuition and I found little time to memorise it, which was terrible.


After CCA on 19 April, I memorised my speech and when I got home I finished memorising the whole speech and I planned to record it at home on 20 April but unfortunately, I was informed that I had to hand it up by around 12pm and obviously, panicked, I managed to get an extension to hand it up by 2pm.


That day, I didn’t eat lunch (foreshadowing…) and stayed in class to record my speech. I was really hungry and fortunately, after 4 tries, I had done it and I immediately ran down to the canteen to get some fruits to at least fill my stomach for Students Investiture Dry Run 2 after school but I was still starving as our class had ran our 2.4km run that day. However, I completely disregarded that. It took quite a long time for the speech to download into google drive but eventually it was submitted by about 3pm.


Investiture Dry Run 2 will be in another story: LINK will be input here soon


So after investiture I was fetched home by my dad by car and how great, my bag was really heavy (foreshadowing part 2…) and as I walked down the carpark slope, I tripped and fell, causing my bag to fall forward onto my head and my right leg and right hand to come crashing down onto the hard concrete floor, scraping off the skin and causing a huge gashing wound on my kneecap. The Grapefruit Green Tea that I was carrying also dropped onto the floor, causing the bottom of the cup to crack and some of the tea to flow out.

I felt extremely dizzy and my vision was fading, my dad helped me up and took my bag. At this point I was literally limping and dragging my feet at the same time, head swaying from side to side as my father supported me towards the lift. I felt weak and I reached home quite soon and collapsed onto the floor near the door of my house and all I could remember was lying there and asking for water.

Well takeaway from this is to NOT SKIP MEALS YES THANK YALLS


Cheers,

Da Good Writer



 

Credits to: D&KB Writing ™️ 2022 Return to RV PESA 2022: Clutch Moment (THIS NEARLY COST ME MY LIFE) © Da Good Writer (Team Master Writers) Inspiration/Idea Real Life Experiences (River Valley High Plain English Speaking Awards Speech Competition 2022)

Achievements: RV PESA 2022 Partcipant (for now) RV PESA 2021 Semi-finalist Thanks to: GODELMO (Kilian) Rose


Caydence ZZX Class 1G’21/2G’22 and Everyone who supported me through the competition Photo Credits: D&KB Writing PicCollage Brought to you by D&KB Writing ™️ (since 2020) We Make Recommendations to Keep Writing Alive Please do leave a comment down below! And if you haven't already, please subscribe to D&KB Writing by filling in the Subscribe Form at the bottom of the page.




17 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page