top of page
Writer's pictureThe Good Writer

Bughouse World Championship 2021@Hufflepuff_Head_Prefect: What and Why

Updated: Nov 17, 2021


I am not going to give some long winded talk in chess and as you know, the Bughouse World Championship 2021-2022 has already started a few days ago. While most matches for the first round have already finished, my partner and I have not played a single game yet to to various time constraint, screw-ups and disagreements between us and our opponents and we have yet to decide when to play the first match, that was supposedly supposed to be finished by the end of this week. I will be updating on that soon so keep a lookout for that.


So if you want to know all about the Bughouse World Championship 2021-2022, here is the article found on chess.com that talks all about it: https://www.chess.com/news/view/2021-bughouse-world-championship


The rules of the variant: Bughouse Chess can also be found in the external links in blue-coloured letters. Bughouse Chess is a popular chess variant between people around the world, which is also known as Siamese Chess where you have to be in a team of two pairs who battle against each other on two separate boards, I highly suggest you go read the rules of Bughouse. This variant is very popular even in the grandmaster community with popular streamers like GM Hikaru Nakamura enjoying the variant.


Anyways, I joined the competition individually so I would be paired up with someone about the same Bughouse rating as mine. I got this guy with a username @gau_pooh and after making our introductions, I realised that he was only a 10-year-old boy from Vietnam who loves to play chess as a hobby. Now time for the why.


So now you might be wondering, why the hell would I join an event that is greatly competitive and so big of an event?


Actually I would just say that in the first place my main goal in this tournament is actually to have fun, enjoy the process of preparing and just playing the games. I mean I would definitely be happy to win some games in this tournament and winning it is like a wild dream. However, I really still want to increase my experience and after stepping down as Owner for D&KB Writing, I have lesser responsibilities on me so after this tournament I will want to try for the National Schools Individual Chess Tournament next year. Bughouse Chess is quite a fun chess variant and I really love it so having more time to cultivate my interest in chess is excellent.


Ok it seems like I have talked enough and just lastly, I will inform y’all if Mr Chuck Moulton or any other Bughouse Chess Twitch streamers will be streaming my game and if yes do watch it. Thanks for all your support and see you next time in the Bughouse World Championship (BWC) 2021-2022 Round 1 Recap!


-PhoenixChess (The Good Writer)


(New edit: By the way, my partner has changed to ChessWithMayank and he makes instructive chess content on YouTube for people to watch, here's his YouTube Channel: ) https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCByNo7S6tmOOPOAJn3ZtuQg















8 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page