top of page
Writer's pictureThe Good Writer

Reigniting The Flame🔥 (Part 2) : My First Idol…

Updated: Aug 18, 2021

2020: So after PSLE in 2020, I became more conserved and I just play chess against myself most of the time so I can better spot mistakes from different points of view.


2021:

Even after secondary school, there was not much wood put to keep the flame burning and chess somehow disappeared from my mind and it seemed that I had just forgotten about it.


However, one day I was just scrolling through YouTube on the television, I suddenly and randomly just noticed a Chess video about something called the Queen’s Gambit (If you don’t know what it is then search it up :D ) and I just clicked on it and just watched it. I remember being quite fascinated about this guy and somehow he just knew a lot about chess and you know that it has been something I wanted to learn for quite a long time.

After that, I started to do some research on this guy. Imma just advertise him here ya…


Name: Levy Rozman

Nickname: GothamChess

Chess Name: IM Levy Rozman 🇺🇸 Achievements:

National Master (NM) of United States of America - 2011

FIDE Master (FM) - 2016

International Master (IM) - 2018

Latest Tournaments:

I Am Not A GM Finals- Lost

Short Bio: Levy Rozman is an American international master, coach, commentator, and superstar streamer. He hosts GothamChess, one of the most popular chess channels on Twitch and YouTube.

Rozman is a chess personality and a strong tournament player and has won multiple city and state tournament championships. He reached his peak USChess rating of 2520 and FIDE rating of 2420 in 2018. He currently holds the title of international master and has beaten many strong players, including legendary GM Peter Svidler during one of Chess.com's Titled Tuesday events. Rozman is the founder and host of the GothamChess channel, named after his hometown, New York. Besides Rozman, chess celebrities like GM Hikaru Nakamura, WGM Anna Rudolf, IM Eric Rosen, and others have appeared on his streams. Rozman's wit and humor have made him one of the top chess streamers in the world.


So, as a chess content creator on YouTube and Twitch, he has just reached the target of 1 million subscribers milestone just about a month ago. His wit and humour makes him a very great online chess coach and one of the series I recommend is Guess the ELO as it is very funny and at the same time you can gain a lot of experience from the games reviewed by him.


After watching his chess content for a while and gaining the experience, I subscribed to his YouTube channel and after a while, I got back into chess, with the Chess.com app, which I really recommend for those who are keen to learn and play chess.

I played with 2 different accounts, with one of the accounts to friend people and the other more to play.


So I used the app to play with some of my friends online and it seems like my chess skills were still quite good and I was on the way to improve. Suddenly, chess was on my interests list again and I was totally keen to improve my chess skills again, with me being way more experienced in terms of playing openings than in the past.


The first man who actually taught me real chess, a humorous content creator on YouTube and was also one of the world’s top international masters. Thus, he actually became my first idol, one person that is not really related to me whom I admire.


My Future…


So I set off just kind of cluelessly with an ELO of 800 in Rapid games and I just played games with this first account and I lost and lost and lost and won. Yes like finally, I lost the first few games and I won some games after a while and managed to get my ELO rating to about 920+ and I friended a lot of people on that account so I just started a new secret account that is not really secret anymore since I just told you guys about it.

I played only one game in a day and I won many games, eventually bringing that account to an ELO of 1130 then played another game, which I drew in, losing 12 points, then I won and lost a game, decreasing my ELO to 1149. Yesterday at 12a.m., I won a game of a guy rated 1310++ , bringing me to a peak ELO rating of 1218, which was quite a great achievement for someone like me. I won the person since I played the Scandinavian Defense and he totally was shocked and thought for a while but he still messed up and eventually, he hung his queen in a fork with the king so I won him.


Recently, I have been analysing some games played by Grandmasters, GothamChess and of course, myself. I have also been watching recaps of the 2021 FIDE Chess World Cup, which was indeed interesting.


I think I will stop here, more content coming soon!…

7 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page