top of page
Writer's pictureThe Good Writer

Appreciation Speech Script (PESA Competition RVHS 2021 Sec 1)

Updated: Jun 1, 2021

Mary Kay Ash, the founder of Mary Kay Cosmetics, once said “Everyone wants to be appreciated. So, if you appreciate someone don’t keep it a secret”.

Have you ever gotten a lot of help from a particular someone? Well, if yes it would be amazing because today, we will be talking about appreciation! Do you want to know who are the people you should appreciate, or even how to appreciate someone by showing gratitude in your definition of appreciation? Let us zoom right in!

One of the few people I appreciate the most is my Primary 6 English and Form teacher, Mrs Yip. She was an excellent teacher who was friendly and hardworking. She contributed much to my success, improving many aspects of my English like comprehension and comprehension cloze. To show my appreciation to Mrs Yip, on Teachers’ Day last year, I made a beautiful card for her and I knew she liked it as she smiled when she received it from me.

Dr. Martin Seligman, a psychologist, tested the impact of various positive psychology interventions on people. He found that participants who wrote a letter of gratitude to properly thank someone for his or her kindness immediately experienced a huge increase in happiness scores lasting at least a month.

Similarly, this was my experience when showing appreciation and gratitude to someone. However, if you were to ask me who you should appreciate, I would say: the answer is everyone and anyone. Even if it is a person you do not know, for example, a school cleaner, you could appreciate them for helping us keep our school campus clean. The people who should be the most appreciated are still your parents, your teachers, and your good friends.

You could show appreciation to your parents for bringing you up, caring for you and helping you study by helping them do some chores. You could appreciate your teachers for patiently teaching you, mentoring you and aiding you to ace your examinations. You could appreciate your friends too, for playing with you, motivating you and helping you with your homework or revision by encouraging them constantly. You may feel that these are just small actions, but they still ought to be appreciated.

One leftover question you may have is how else can you show appreciation to someone? Good question! For people who helped you a lot, you could make a handmade card and give it to them personally. If that person has just helped you with a simple job or problem, saying a simple “thank you” can brighten up their day! If you would like to thank someone who may have made a big difference and maybe changed your way of life in a positive way, you could even make them a small gift. Appreciating someone is easy if you put your mind to it, is it not? A simple action like appreciating them can make a big difference.

In fact, I think that we need not spend our money on lavish gifts, what is more important is how you dedicate that gratitude to the person, not by spending money, but by expressing the sentiment to them directly. Imagine that your friend just spent a lot of their pocket money on a gift just because you helped them, what would your reaction be? If it were me, I would think that the friend may not be showing me appreciation in the correct way, because I do not like anyone to spend money on me, even if it’s just a few dollars. A simple “Thank You” would be enough to satisfy me. However, if you wish to give me something better, I would rather you write a card for me so that I can keep it and remember that you were the one who showed me some appreciation!

To recap, Mary Kay Ash once said “Everyone wants to be appreciated. So, if you appreciate someone, don’t keep it a secret” That is why you should appreciate people now. Thank you!

Btw I didn’t get into the finals so Ehe


13 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page