top of page
Writer's pictureThe Good Writer

Opening Up: The Cost of being "Smart"

Updated: Nov 13, 2021

Hi people, it surely has been sometime since I've written something long so today, let me share some more things about myself. I am The Good Writer as you might know, nice to meet all of you viewers.


For those who know me, you might call me a "nerd" or call me "smart" since you guys would know that I will usually do quite well for most of the things I actually do, whether it’s academically or for non-academic activities. However good you think my life is, it may not always be the case.

In my life, there is always stress on me that comes from many sources actually. It usually comes from probably the expectations of my parents sometimes my friends too due to some peer pressure and most of the time from myself. Well, people around will usually say practice makes perfect and stuff like that, which I used to agree but afterwards I thought that it seemed that smart practice makes perfect made more sense. There was that point in time that I had tried smart practice but the results did not really come out as perfect. While this statement still seems to make sense, to me, the more I say “Smart Practice makes Perfect” to myself, the more stressed I am to make myself perfect, despite knowing that humans are, from the moment they are born, imperfect.

In addition, I do quite a lot of practice and I’m fine if my friends don’t see it but it seems like whenever I pick up the phone or try to rest, the parents will somehow just come into the room and ask you to go do your work. I mean that I have been doing my work and I know when I need to do my things. Of course I get a lot of free time to do my own things and yes you may say oh you have like way more than 1 hour of free time a day, how unappreciative. I would just say things aren’t always what they seem to be and no one actually knows what I do during my free time and how intensive I study when in the school library. If you only look at the results and not the improvement, there really isn’t any point at all because you are supposed to strive to improve with a very slow and steady technique and if you try an “Intensive Study Camp” for the whole of the holidays by yourself, I would not be surprised to see no improvement at all.

Trust me, a lot of days, it is up and down for me. There are times where I can be in a very good mood in the afternoon and just feel unhappy in the evening. As I grow older, I experience more frequent severe dips in mood, possibly for the smallest things and sometimes for no reason at all or so I think. At times it may be short and I will become very “impulsive” I would say and I might not be able to make good decisions. This feels very worrying but I am starting to lose control of myself as my life continues.


The way I deal with these severe dips in mood is to think that there are more people who are experiencing worst than what I am experiencing right now. Which has helped a little bit but has convinced my brain that I’m not supposed to be feeling sad although I am, which may be contradictory but it’s true that I start beating myself up for feeling that way and this adds more to the stress about me having to be satisfied about my life.


I’ve seen and heard a lot about some things and yes I have empathy for people who are probably being tortured and just “dying” every day but sometimes the cost of me doing good academically in school, being able to play chess well and having a talent in creative writing is just this much stress for just myself. Over the recent months, more and more stress is piling up on me and thus I have to put down something and I decided I was going to temporarily give up writing for the time being, not entirely but most of it. Thus, I requested a change of roles and I have temporarily stepped down as owner of D&KB Writing so Ze Yeeter is now the Owner and Vampoody is Co- Owner, I hope they will help this website and I will be back, when my passion and love for writing reignites again.

For now I will be more inactive on this website but we still appreciate your support so thanks so much. See you soon.


-The Good Writer

34 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page