top of page
Writer's pictureThe Good Writer

Special Edition 立化感情 2: RV PESA 2021 Part 1


PESA was finally here, it was an annual speech contest held by our school and there would be 3 rounds to determine the Winner.


Well, since I was interested, I signed up for it, being the 3rd person in my class to sign up for the competition and I got to work immediately. Adding on to the school homework and the pressure of this competition, I was determined to secure at least a place in the Finals for my class, 1G. Days passed as i coped with schoolwork and wrote the speech script. I got some help from my English tuition teacher and my school English teacher too. Both guided me well about the writing structure of the speech and soon I was ready, with two days left to record the speech video. I still had to memorise the script and trust me, it was irritating and tiring. I had to make it through and through WhatsApp, I found people to rant to and I'm really sorry if you are one of the few I ranted to.


That was technically kind of me descending into tyranny. Deep into the night, I continued editing the script, memorising it very desperately as the deadline inched closer and closer and the more I ranted to people (very very sorry...). We recorded many videos and most of them were a failure. The speech video was always imperfect in some way or another. Impatience and annoyance was killing me internally as I persevered through the night, trying again and again and once again yet failing every time. Sleeping late was "compulsory" that few days and while I was in school, laughing and talking with my friends, on the inside, I was memorising my script over and over. On Thursday, I had tuition later and there was some time to do the recording. The last recording that made just before my tuition was the best of all although there was multiple imperfections.


That was a backup. After tuition, when I got home at about 10 p.m., I completed my homework first and once again, attempted to record the video, which was a failed attempt. The next morning, which was a Friday, the deadline was 9am and in the morning, I woke up extra early and tried recording again. Before recording, I breathed in deeply...

This is my last chance at it, I-...

I just started recording. I talked naturally and tried not to screw it up. Finally, I finished the speech. With 75 speech video recordings made, 73 were incomplete with 2 being complete and the one recording that morning being the most perfect one. It was a perfect memorisation of the speech, except for the fact that I just woke up and my hair was messy as heck. I submitted the video to my English teacher.


RV PESA 2021 Details:

Category: Junior Category (Sec 1 and 2s)

Topic: Appreciation

Round: Preliminary Round (Round 1)

Class: Secondary 1-G

Time Limit: 2-4 minutes

Requirements: Write a speech, memorise it and record a video of you reciting it and send it in for the round.


Results for Next Round to be released on: 27 April 2021


Behind The Scenes: Thoughts


"It doesn't matter how slow you go, as long as you don't stop." -Anonymous

"Best friends make the good times better and the hard times easier." -Anonymous

From the few days, I have learnt many things, from PE lessons and this speech competition. Life is a marathon, though during hard times, you may need a sprint. The key thing that gets you through everything is support, for me a supportive and inspiring friend, who understands... Thank you for those who listened to me rant (...), helped me and gave me the motivation to press on through hard times...

Sneak Peak:

"Oh no, I'm so dead..."

23 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page